diy solar

diy solar

Transfer Switch Wiring Help for OffGrid System with Generator Backup

kalebcrafts

Hi All, I'm pretty new to this solar thing. I'm not a licensed electrician. I'm a DIY guy trying to build an offgrid cabin. I've got a 3700 watt solar array (10 370 watt panels) with (2) Rich Solar 3000 watt inverters and (2) 5.3kw BigBattery Li batteries. I don't have a massive power load (the cabin is pretty small). However, I do want to have a propane generator to backup the solar when it's hot and I run a little window AC or if it's cloudy for a few days, etc. I'd also like the generator to not just power the loads, but to charge the batteries when the sun can't. The generator I've got is a 14kw Kohler Propane Generator.

So, my question is what is the best to set this up to be automatic and pain free. I was thinking I'd need an automatic transfer switch. My thought was to run the AC output from the solar inverters to the supply side of the transfer switch so it is the primary power source. Then if the voltage coming from the inverters/batteries drops the transfer switch would engage and the generator would kick on and begin power the loads. Am I thinking through this correctly?

My only concern would be, how do I then have the generator also charge the batteries in the solar setup? I'm thinking i would need an additional panel/circuit that is only powered when the generator comes on that powers an AC charger that I can wire to the batteries?? How would I do that? Or is there a better way to do this? Thanks in advance!

The transfer switch should come with a wire diagram that shows generator vs inverter(utility) inputs and output to your loads.

If the generator has multiple outlets I would just plug the charger into the generator direct.

Transfer switch is expensive, plus the cost of something like a chargeverter to charge the batteries.

Consider switching to something like the eg4 6000xp. It can do what you want.