diy solar

diy solar

Two (2) B2B chargers in a vehicle to get double the charging amps?

Ample

I have a Renogy 40A B2B charger and it's working well. I also have a heavy-duty alternator (220A if I remember) and thus could run a higher capacity B2B charger.

I'm planning on a 4th 100Ah LiFePO4 battery and thus I wouldn't mind a more powerful B2B charger to charge the soon-to-be bigger bank.

Renogy only makes a 60A charger.

Could I simply add a 2nd 40A B2B charger in parallel?
Could doing that provide 80A of charging?

The 2nd 40A unit could also provide some fault tolerance. If one of them dies, I still have 40A of charging.

I did ask Renogy but their front-line support simply said "No, don't do it" without further explanation.

What problems could I face with 2 B2B chargers in parallel?

I'm not an expert but I know that I've simultaneously run:
  1. 60A MPPT charge controller pump out about 25A
  2. the 40A Renogy B2B charger (engine on)
  3. a 50A power converter (plugged into shore power)
And they all played nicely together. This was only for a short test. Nothing fried.

It was kind of like my 3 Li batteries, which were from 2 different manufacturers. They figured themselves out.

I could see that batteries charge and discharge at different rates. Sometimes at night with no solar and away from shore power and no B2B, 1 or 2 of the batteries would charge the 3rd or sometimes one would charge the other 2 until they equalize.

I'm hoping that two B2B batteries could run simultaneously too. Thoughts?

Two 40 amp B2B will be OK running in parallel. Note with a 40 amp output, the input current current could approach 45 to 50 amps.