diy solar

diy solar

Undercharge Protection?

BigSur

I have this system on order and a 100ah lead acid battery from MightyMax. This is my first build and I don’t want to ruin the battery!

Does anyone have experience with this PWM controller to know if you can change the value for when it cuts off power from the battery? I’ve read that 12.1v is where you should disconnect the load. Is there another controller you trust to have this feature?

I don’t have that PWM controller, but the PWM I have, and the ones I looked at do have a low voltage cut off for the load, but the documentation is vague about what the rating on the load is with things like “hook your low power items to the load,” or “Do not hook your inverter to the load.”

So, for higher wattage items like an inverter, this low voltage cutoff is not built in. I have a shunt and a battery monitor that gives me an audible alarm off State of Charge, and has the option of adding a relay which I could set up to power down higher wattage items until my battery could recharge.

I’d like to say download the spec sheet for the PWM to find out, but the PWM I bought, I could not view the manual until I bought it. Even after I got this manual, I felt it was lacking on documentation.

The PWM was for my learning system, and for my RV, I went with an MPPT controller.

I don’t have that PWM controller, but the PWM I have, and the ones I looked at do have a low voltage cut off for the load, but the documentation is vague about what the rating on the load is with things like “hook your low power items to the load,” or “Do not hook your inverter to the load.”

So, for higher wattage items like an inverter, this low voltage cutoff is not built in. I have a shunt and a battery monitor that gives me an audible alarm off State of Charge, and has the option of adding a relay which I could set up to power down higher wattage items until my battery could recharge.