diy solar

diy solar

Why are my AMP-hrs and Whrs calculations so different? Do inverters work to increase Whrs?

Faxatron

Hello everyone! I am a total noob in all senses of the word. I tried two different approaches for estimating my total load as a first step.

The first method was to calculate Amp Hours. I did this by dividing the listed wattage on the appliance and dividing it by the voltage it receives. I then multiplied by the amount of time the device would be in use. For example, the water heater I plan to install is a 12,000 Watt system running off of 240 V power. I figured 20 minutes to shower for two people and a few minutes to fill the sink with hot water should be plenty for a day's use. This gave me 25 Amp hours a day for this unit. I tried to repeat the process for every other major power draw in my system. The total came out to 247 Amp Hours even running the 710 watt AC at 110 V for 24 hours a day. With the addition of a bunch of smaller DC appliances that would run much more often and charging computers and such it brought the total up to roughly 400 Amp hours. Based on this I calculated that I should be fine running 800Amp hour batteries at 24volts charging them up with 2,200 W panels in roughly 8 hours of sunshine.

THEN I found another method of estimating energy usage: Whrs. Its simple, they said! Multiply the wattage by the hours used. Bing bang boom. So I did this for the major appliances and found that it would require an astonishing 18KWhrs using the AC only 6 hours a day. The exact same battery setup only provides 19,800 Whrs (taking 800A * 24V). So which is it? Can I power my system with the aforementioned setup, or will I struggle to get through a 12 hour summer scorcher alive?