diy solar

diy solar

Yangtze 500W solar Panels

I have my panels strategically placed to deal with shading, and have many parallel strings on separate charge controllers for example. I have no idea how they would handle shading in a more 'traditional' install.

Why do you think they don't have bypass diodes? Which panels are they exactly?

I don’t remember where I read that but am following up on it. Looking at YS600M-72 model; huge panels. I have zero experience with utility-grade panels, which I would expect to give less attention to shading issues because they normally would be mounted in spots with no ground shading issues whatsoever. But the location where these would be used, does have some tree shading during winter mornings and evenings.

Again, thanks for your info.

Yeah, could be they don't have them. Yep, those panels are huge - keep that in mind: you need a few people to install these.
You can always split in multiple strings to work around shading.

I might put optimizers on one string immediately adjacent to an identical string without optimizers, and track the difference. And then retrofit the others if it made enough difference. It would add about six cents per watt to the cost.

Keep us informed regarding those optimizers. I assume you're planning on using those Tigo ones? I've had mixed experiences with those in set-ups I did in the past (mostly related to them only able to lower the voltage, potentially dragging a string down to below the MPPT voltage range), but that probably is different when you can use a higher voltage MPPT controller to begin with, with more panels in series.

Yeah, I’d be using strings in the 500 volt range. If I go with these panels for a project I’m planning, I’ll definitely update. But prolly won’t be able to get this done before august.

Hi guys.

As I really want to contribute I decide to write my experience with panels of this topic.