diy solar

diy solar

12 V 300 amp hour in series

PanamaTripp

I’m designing an off grid system for a small house after watching Will ‘s video on the chins 12 V 300 amp hour lithium iron phosphate battery I have decided to go with four of them in series to make 48 V. I’m new with lithium iron phosphate batteries, and cannot figure out how to calculate the watt hours if I hook for 12 V 300 amp hour batteries in series please help thanks guys

A 48V battery would be a better choice than 4 x 12V batteries in series.
Your question: 300Ah x 51.2V (4 batteries x 12.8V) = 15,360Wh
I don't understand isn't a 48v battery consist of alot of batteries allready in series?

What's the benefit of making your own 48v system versus buying one pre made?

I’m designing an off grid system for a small house after watching Will ‘s video on the chins 12 V 300 amp hour lithium iron phosphate battery I have decided to go with four of them in series to make 48 V. I’m new with lithium iron phosphate batteries, and cannot figure out how to calculate the watt hours if I hook for 12 V 300 amp hour batteries in series please help thanks guys
Did the manufacturer specifically state that this model of battery can be put in series? You are better off buying a 48V battery that has a BMS designed for 48V. There is no guarranty that four 12V batteries in series can stay balanced.

That being said, you need to remember the basic electrical mantra, in series volts add while amps stay the same. In parallel, amps add while voltage stays the same.

In your hypothetical case, the first half of the mantra applies, in series volts add while amps stay the same. So, you get 300Ah at 48V, or a total of 300Ah X 48V = 14,400Wh. Assuming you never want more than 75% depletion, that means ~11kWh of available power.

I don't understand isn't a 48v battery consist of alot of batteries allready in series?