diy solar

diy solar

2 x 12v 100ah LiFePo4 renogy smart batteries in parallel only pulling power from one battery

ahorvath13

Hi, I am brand new to solar and battery back-ups and recently installed a Renogy 200w off grid solar kit to the roof of my sprinter van as part of my conversion to a camper. Everything seemed fine when I first set everything up (batteries displaying similar SOC % and voltages, and amperage draw while in use). Recently through on my Renogy DC Home app I've been seeing one battery charge to usually 14.2 volts and discharge fine. However, the other battery seems to only charge to 13.6 or 13.7 and appears to have no draw coming from it (maintains 100% SOC and voltage) when using 12v power, but the other battery drains. If I add a large load to my inverter (like a heat gun) the "sleepy" battery seems to "wake up" and I start to see an even amperage draw from both batteries.

I'm stumped and any help is greatly appreciated

I see nearly this exact post on this forum about once a week. Maybe it’s more and I didn’t see it.

If I were you, I’d return those Renogy batteries if you still can. They’re overly complicated and the end result is problems like this. They should work just fine out of the box and never give you problems, but these Renogy batteries aren’t well designed or built or maybe both.

If you try Renogy customer support, don’t waste your time doing it over email. It could take weeks or months. Call. You might not get results until you ask or they offer to push your case up the chain. Tier 2 has some clue and Tier 3 is quite good. But good luck getting to those tiers!

Let’s assume though that the problem is your wiring and not the batteries. I doubt it’s the wiring, but let’s check it out anyways. Got a schematic and photos of your wiring and system?