diy solar

diy solar

24 vs 48 volt system for beginner

nexusjosh

So, I'm just getting into Solar. I was going to go with a 48 volt system, they're cheaper, and from what I've read, generally better, you need double the batteries from a 24 volt system, but that also gives me far more battery life. However, from what I've seen, they appear to be more complicated as far as the solar panels are concerned.

Question is simple for you experienced peeps; Should I continue looking into a 48 volt system as a beginner, or downscale to a 24v system.

Big advantage of 24v is half the battery, which is half the cost, which is substantial... Otherwise everything else is the same really. Technically 48v is not low voltage like 24v, but all this stuff is dangerous.

Let’s answer this with a question…

what are you going to power with this system, and for how long would you like it to run after dark? How much solar will you have?

Big advantage of 24v is half the battery, which is half the cost, which is substantial
I wouldn't call that a big advantage of 24V. If you have half the battery then you have half the total power as well, regardless of voltage.

You can easily make a 48V battery that is the same cost as a 24V battery. Both will have the same power. It's just that the 48V will have half the Ah of the 24V version but both have the same Wh. And Wh is the important number when determining how much stuff you can run and for how long.

Let's say you buy 4 12V 100Ah batteries. Whether you wire them in 4P (12V 400Ah), 2S2P (24V 200Ah), or 4S (48V 100Ah), you still have the same amount of total Wh (4800Wh) all for the same cost.

However, from what I've seen, they appear to be more complicated as far as the solar panels are concerned.