diy solar

diy solar

4S or 2S2P for most solar production.

thebeavesknees

Hi, all!

I have 4 REC Alpha 405W panels that are going to be installed on my travel trailer soon. I have no direct solar experience, so I was wondering if anyone could help shed some light (I love puns, so, beware!) on what might work best in my case.

The VOC and Isc are 48.9V and 10.3A, respectively. This puts me in a bit of an awkward spot. A 2S2P configuration would let me use something like an MPP 3048LV-MK, but if a 4S configuration would be better, I would need to go with a newer/different AIO that will support over 200V for the SCC input.

The trailer is currently located on a slightly NW/SE azimuth (and darnit, I can actually shoot an azimuth but I forgot before writing this), with heavy shade from a tree in the morning, mostly clear sky until deep winter from later morning until late afternoon. Right now, I'm not going to tilt the panels, but, I may at a later date.

I think I should settle this first before I decide what AIO to get, since that seems a bit more sensible than forcing myself into one situation because I prefer an exact AIO (based on a lot of reading and videos and generally good things, I do like the MPP 3048LV-MK, and it doesn't hurt that it is on sale now), when it isn't ideal for the panels I have now. There is a possibility to add more panels, but, that would be in a year or three, as I'd need to remove a bunch of stuff from my roof which I'm not willing to do just yet.

Thoughts and suggestions are welcome!

Thanks for your time!

Sounds like you're on the right track, just keep in mind you will need more pv voltage headroom for cold mornings. VOC rises as temperatures fall. 250-300v on the pv input would be great if going 4s, otherwise 150v if going 2s2p :)