diy solar

diy solar

6.6kw solar system newbie questions

Ejimenez

Sooo im new to this and have been learning on youtube and chatgpt lol.

Is a 6.6kw solar system enough to power either and electric dryer or electric cooktop? I do plan on adding 20kwh in batteries (2 10kw batteries) with a 8-8.5kw inverter.

i live in Puerto Rico so my house roof is flat and summer sunny all year plus no tress or anything for shading the panels. I plan to run this system for the whole house and use batteries everytime possible to limit grid use

Possibly. You will need to know what the power needs for the dryer and cooktop are. You can look up the ratings and estimate runtime to get watthour. You also need to know if your inverter can handle startup current for the device you plan to power plus some idea of its efficiency.

Example: Electric dryer uses 6000w to operate. You intend to run it 45 minutes. This means power requirements are 6000w X .75h=4000wh If your inverter is 90% efficient that means your battery will see a draw of 4,444wh.

Your PV at 6600w is going to charge the battery or supply loads for a sunny day an average number of hours. Ex. 6 hours worth of panel wattage over entire day. Panels develop wattage starting low in the morning, peak at full sun and than drop until sunset. so 6600w X 6h =39660wh available.

Keep in mind W=VA

I do plan on adding 20kwh in batteries
6600w X 6h =39660wh available.
The batteries can store roughly half of that amount "available" (produced by the array daily). So each day, during the 6h of solar production, assuming you recharge batteries completely, there will be 20kwh that you can use at that time or not harvest (wasted opportunity).

So with an array so much larger than what you batteries can store, you should plan on running your large loads while the sun is shining.

Thank you for the answers, im not very electrical savy (I HATE working with electricity and its meanings) so I kinda get confused or lost too much.