diy solar

diy solar

6000xp with "PV isolation low" warning

Kent86

Hello,

I recently installed the two MIdnite solar SPD's on my 6000xp system, one for each MPPT (one for each string). I shut down the system, installed them and turned everything back on in the order recommended by the manual but the inverter kept making a clicking noise and the solar wouldn't activate in the inverter. The SPD's are the 300 volt DC models and my strings are well below the threshold. Then the inverter would show error code 20 "PV isolation low". I restarted the inverter multiple times with the same result. So I decided to disable the PV isolation setting and everything immediately cleared and started working as it should. The issue is- why would the PV isolation (GFCI capabilities, as I understand it) have to be turned off for the PV circuit to function with the SPD's? Is it possible that the SPD's are being seen as a ground fault?
As an electrician, I really liked the idea of the PV circuits having ground fault protection and want it enabled.

What is the voltage of your PV string?

SPD do have capacitance. These HF AIO drive AC superimposed on PV wires. Maybe it is AC leakage that causes the fault.

I was able to test small MOV with a HiPot, but larger surge arrestors tripped the 1 mA threshold. Had to test them differently.

With SPD disconnected, measure voltage on AC range from PV+ to ground, also PV- to ground. Since you have SPD connected and isolation disabled, test it that way too.

Try putting AC ammeter between ground (neutral) wire of SPD and ground. That should measure leakage directly.

Ground fault of PV strings for transformer isolated inverters was a 1A fuse, but transformerless may be more sensitive. Utility really wouldn't like it if we fed DC, even 1A, into their transformers.

string 1 is about 150 VOC and string 2 is 200 VOC.

Thanks for the advice, I'll check out out tomorrow and get back