diy solar

diy solar

AC Coupled Whole-Home Backup

karamazov

Hi all - newbie here hoping to get some advice.

I've had solar done before at my last house (in a residential neighborhood) but this time I am looking to DIY. Not only for my own knowledge, but because in my particular atypical situation I can't find a vendor that isn't going to charge me and astronomical amount of money to install a system.

Before we get into requirements, I'll describe my new property and why it poses some problems most people don't have (though I imagine on this forum there are a lot who are in a similar situation). I live on a decently sized rural property. My meter is on the electrical pole, along with a main breaker panel. This breaker panel is not the main breaker for the house - it has a few breakers on it that power my 230v 1HP well pump and 110v chlorinator. The main breaker on the pole also feeds the main breaker in the house, which is about 200 feet in another direction, not near the well.

My requirements are::
- Produce >= 100% of my needs during peak usage (around 40-50kW a day) and sell back to the grid
- Have enough battery backup to keep critical systems online during a multi-day outage (well pump, refrigerator, freezer at night, possibly AC during the day in the summer)

So far I have been working with shopsolarkits.com to get a custom kit built, though I did most of the research myself first. Roughly this is what the system I designed looks like:
- Sol-Ark 15k inverter
- 24x 380w mono PVs
- 4x 100Ah 48v Jakiper server rack batteries