diy solar

diy solar

AC200MAX

Hugh Jorgen

Hi, Folks. I’m new to the solar game. I have (2) 200W Renogy solar suitcases, each consisting of (2) 100W panels each, and each suitcase has a Voyager PWM controller. I’ll be trying to use all 4 to charge my Bluetti AC200MAX generator. I believe the Renogy suitcases are wired in parallel from the factory. Can I simply bypass the Voyager controllers on each suitcase, and connect the 2 suitcases in series, with Bouge Y-branch connectors, and then connect them to the Bluetti?
Thanks in advance!

Can I simply bypass the Voyager controllers on each suitcase, and connect the 2 suitcases in series, with Bouge Y-branch connectors, and then connect them to the Bluetti?
You need to make sure you don't violate the Bluetti's max input voltage. Use the panel temp adjust Voc numbers on your panels. If voltage of 4S panels, you might get by with 2S2P.

I believe that the Renogy solar suitcases are wired in parallel, since they come with a PWM controller. According to Renogy, I can simply disconnect the MC4 plugs before the controller, thus bypassing the controller altogether. I’m a bit lost on your suggestion about adjusting the voc numbers. Please forgive my ignorance - I know next to nothing about solar.

I’m a bit lost on your suggestion about adjusting the voc numbers.
Sorry that was supposed to be temp adjusted Voc. The Voc is the "no load" voltage. The voltage rises as it gets colder than the 25C (77F) where they are rated. When you connect the 2 pairs in series, the volts are summed. Be sure this voltage does not exceed Bluetti's max input voltage.

Would it work better if I were to disassemble each solar suitcase and wire them in series, then, connect them in parallel before the Bluetti? Each solar suitcase has a voc of 21.6, and the Bluetti accepts a range of 10-145.

Each solar suitcase has a voc of 21.6, and the Bluetti accepts a range of 10-145.