diy solar

diy solar

All-In-One Power usage

Leemaisel

I have been using this setup for the last three years with no issues:

2KW solar. 4800wh LiPO4, a Seperate MPPT charge controller, and a seperate 3KW inverter. Also a 48/12v converter.

My question is, I will be doubling the battery capacity and the solar panels, and was thinking about going to the WIll Prowse tested and approved All in one EG4 3KW charge controller/inverter/charger.

The main reason for the change is, the MPPT controller is better, and it will accept up to 500v input, my current one only is rated for 150v MAX.

The problem is, after talking to Signature Solar, you cannot turn the AC Inverter portion off. It’s always on. Currently, we save power especially on long stretches of low sun days by limiting our AC use. Most everything else runs off 12v.

SIgnature said the power usage of this thing is 50W When IDLE! That adds up to 1200w over a 24 hour period, which is currently 1/4 of my capacity. That seems like a deal killer to me, am I wrong about my calculations? I really like the unit, but that sure seems like a huge waste of power for something that is IDLE.

Thoughts??

I took a look at the manual and it looks like the only way to turn it “off” is the disconnect switch on the bottom of the unit that looks like it breaks the connection to the battery (turning everything off).

Unfortunately the idle consumption on these and other inverters can be high. My 6500s could be anywhere from 80-130w. I can turn the inverter off though and the unit will only use 25-30w in “standby mode”.

Thanks Adam, Yeah, it’s sad they overlooked such a simple thing. I wonder if an external switch could be tied in to just disable the inverter itself without freaking the unit out.

Lee
W5LMM

I have been using this setup for the last three years with no issues:

2KW solar. 4800wh LiPO4, a Seperate MPPT charge controller, and a seperate 3KW inverter. Also a 48/12v converter.