diy solar

diy solar

Amp vs amp hours

cpe.wolf

Hi all,

I am new to all this, learning so that we can use solar and wind in our future house.

I’m having trouble finding information that explains the difference between a 200 amp Service compare two solar system. Does amp hours equivalent the same thing as a 200 amp grid service? Are there any videos that showThing connecting a solar system into a 2 phase 200 amp breaker box? Would I have two separate breaker boxes one for 12v such as LED lights etc and one for outlets/fan etc?

thank you for the assistance and knowledge!!!

Amp hours is a measurement of power over time. An amp-hour is one amp for one hour, or 10 amps for 1/10 of an hour and so forth. It is amps multiplied by hours. If you have something that pulls 10 amps, and you use it for 10 minutes, then the amp-hours used would be 10 (amps) X .167 (hours), or 1.67 AH.

On the other hand, amps is an instantaneous measurement (at only one given point in time). In terms of the service on your house, if that is a 200 amp service it can provide your house with 200 amps at any given time (or continuously for that matter)...There is no capacity involved in that.

Think of Amp Hours like measuring Kilowatt Hours on your house - The difference is that batteries aren't measured in KWH like your house's consumption is.

The accepted AH rating time period for batteries used in solar electric and backup power systems is the "20 hour rate". This means that it is discharged down to 10.5 volts over a 20 hour period while the total actual amp-hours it supplies is measured. Sometimes ratings at the 6 hour rate and 100 hour rate are also given for comparison and for different applications. The 6-hour rate is often used for industrial batteries, as that is a typical daily duty cycle. Sometimes the 100 hour rate is given just to make the battery look better than it really is, but it is also useful for figuring battery capacity for long-term backup amp-hour requirements.