diy solar

diy solar

Anyone have a NodeRed flow EG4 6000EX-48

SkyMo

I use Node-Red to build monitors and control pumps and other stuff at my remote site. I have working flows for Trophy Batteries, Victron BMS and EpEver solar charge controllers. Now I have EG4 6000Ex inverters, I'd like to add them to the mix. Even though I have a document that sorta describes the protocol, I haven't had much luck getting anything from the inverters.

For starters, I don't see anything regarding the baud rate or parity? I assume that I am just reading coils, but that isn't clear either. Maybe if I was an expert on ModBus this would all be easy, but I am not.

Then again, I am sure I am not the only one doing this. Anyone get talking to these inverters working? I know SolarAssistant sort of works, but it doesn't do what I need.

Attachments

• Modbus-protocol-for-EG4-6000EX-48.pdf
    177.9 KB · Views: 15
SkyMo. I am able to pull data from the EG4 6000Ex and parse it for use in Node-Red using the jblance mpp-solar python script. I've done a lot of industrial controls work over the years so I'm very familiar with ModBus. I'm glad to see EG4 (or Voltronic?) are supporting ModBus now, however, I haven't tested it yet. My EG4 6000EX was installed to replace a similar Voltronic-based MPP LVX6048 which I don't believe had modbus support. I was able to swap my LVX6048 for an EG4 6000EX and the comms I was using still work.

Wiring: I'm using the micro-B USB port on the bottom side of the display panel - no baud rate to worry about
Software: jblance mpp-solar python script available here https://github.com/jblance/mpp-solar
Install: If you already have python and pip installed on your computer (windows or linux) this script can be installed simply by "pip install mppsolar"

from there I execute the command line from within node-red as
/usr/local/bin/mpp-solar -p /dev/hidraw0 -P PI18SV -c GS
that is on linux, will be a bit different if you are node-red on windows