diy solar

diy solar

Anyone with the right equipment up for some experimental testing?

Solarfun4jim

Solar seduced :-)
@Will Prowse
Any of the 'Tech heads' on here, that have the right equipment, up for running some experimental testing on a single lifepo4 cell?
A range of experiments plotted on a graph could be very illuminating(with regards specifically to solar charging and low C rates).
Keeping in mind, higher voltages drives the ion mobility and the proclamation by Will, that no degradation of the electrolyte happens until above 4.2v/cell, i thought the following tests could cover a lot of bases/outcomes and may provide a lot of guidance on future charging profile set ups.
I would love to do this myself, but as a newbie, i dont have the equipment necessary at this stage or the confidence in my abilities(as yet).
Anyone up for the challenge? Will P?

Thought these tests would be good....

Start with a 'single 3.2v cell' discharged to 2.5V each time(not a battery pack).

To compare how much, higher voltage (higher ion mobility) drives charging time…

Charge 200ah cell, 4.0v @ 60A (0.3C charge rate) (240w) disconnect at 3.6V level, so no 'cv stage' charge where amps drop to zero (how long to charge & then test total capacity gained discharging to 2.5v)

Charge 200ah cell, 3.8v @ 60A (0.3C charge rate) (228w) disconnect at 3.6V level, so no 'cv stage' charge where amps drop to zero (how long to charge & then test total capacity gained discharging to 2.5v)

Charge 200ah cell, 3.6v @ 60A (0.3C charge rate) (216w) disconnect at 3.6V level, should be able to get full cc/cv charge stage to zero amps (how long to charge & then test total capacity gained discharging to 2.5v)

Charge 200ah cell, 3.4v @ 60A (0.3C charge rate) (204w) disconnect at 3.4V level, should be able to get full cc/cv charge stage to zero amps (how long to charge & then test total capacity gained discharging to 2.5v)