diy solar

diy solar

Battery set up and configuration

mrolrac

Hi Everyone, I am relatively new to solar....I currently have a 48v 10kw hybrid inverter with 3 x 48v 5kw Lifepo4 rack batteries connected in parallel to each other and connected to the inverter.

I want to add further storage capacity to the system and have bought 32 x 304ah Eve cells for this purpose.

What is the most efficient way to connect these, both in terms of electrical wiring and also laying out the cells to make the connections as easy as possible.

To make the packs physically manageable in case I need to move them at some point, I was thinking of making 8 groups of 4 cells 2P2S( not sure if 2P2S is the correct term ?) , then connecting the 8 groups together in series and finally connecting in parallel to the inverter alongside the 3 x rack batteries. The wiring / best layout for this is overwhelming me somewhat.

Any guidance on how best to do this would be very much appreciated.

Thanks

I’m not sure about the specs on those batteries, but typically mixing chemistries in the same battery array is not a great idea. Since the chemistries will have different characteristics, the inverter will have a harder time, recognizing whether or not there reaching the various stages of the charge cycle.

If I’m understanding you correctly you’re attempting to make 48 V batteries with the additional batteries that you purchased by wiring them together in series?

It’s also best to provide some links to the equipment that you purchase so that people in the forums can easily locate the information 👍

I want to add further storage capacity to the system and have bought 32 x 304ah Eve cells for this purpose.
Two 48v battery banks made up of 16 cells each.

Each bank gets its own BMS, wire to BusBar, and Class T fuse. Treat the 3 5kW LIFEPO4 rack as one more "Bank".

The 3 banks will be roughly equal in capacity to/from the busbar.