diy solar

diy solar

Beginner Needs Generator Recommendations

Sunpower11

Hello All,

Complete beginner looking for generator recommendations based on a few specific needs. I'm open to both solar and dual fuel, but mainly drawn to solar due to potential fuel shortages during an outage and lack of carbon monoxide concerns. I also have some mobility challenges so looking for something that is somewhat portable or that a neighbor could assist with. In terms of power needs, considering two options: 1) Ideally, backup power for whole house (1300 sq ft), 2) At a minimum, backup power for full size fridge + one full size freezer and possibly a window A/C unit). I am not so much worried about lights/electronics, just want to be able to save food and heat/cool house to a reasonable level. I would like to keep the cost at or below $4K, including installing a transfer switch if needed. I've been looking primarily at the EcoFlow Delta Pro or Delta 2 Max. Would either of these be sufficient? If so, what specific recommendations would you have? Also, are there any important questions I haven't considered?

My wife and I would like to stay in our current home for awhile, but aren't sure if we will be here long-term, so we're probably going to hold off on solar panels for awhile. Any recommendations on battery packs for solar? It seems like Ecoflow has fairly regular sales. Finally, I've learned a lot from Youtube, but still would appreciate advice of whether I should get an inverter, the most accurate method to calculate wattage, surge needs, etc. Thanks in advance for your insights!

have some mobility challenges so looking for something that is somewhat portable or that a neighbor could assist with
So why not a standard installation of solar, then? Or even if one does solar and adds a gasoline/propane generator in a box-store shed portability will be anon issue and lesser expensive options can be acquired.