diy solar

diy solar

BMS PROBLEM!!!

RogerW

Hello everyone.
I'm having some difficulties here with my solar system. I only have couple days with it and I'm new to this. I have 2 jbd 200amp bms. Each with 16 batteries. But one of the BMS's indicates charge overcurrent. And usually starts at 50% batteries capacity. So it shuts down and couple seconds later starts up again and shuts down and on. During the day it still reaches 85-90% charge. But after Sun is down switches are on But there is no discharge. Only from the other bms. So of I turn of the working bms the other ones comes on. And if I switch the other on this one shuts down. We have the 2 sets of batteries with each fuse ran through one same wire. Would that be a problem? I have no idea where to go from here. And batteries were top balanced. They actually keep balanced even when it says current overcharged

Attachments

• 20231129_140709.jpg
    20231129_140709.jpg
    547 KB · Views: 73
  • 20231129_140701.jpg
    20231129_140701.jpg
    520.7 KB · Views: 68
#1 cause of issues is bad connections.

Check each and every terminal for proper torque.

Check each and every BMS lead for good crimp and torque.

Check that wires are firmly in the BMS connector, and that those connectors are secure.

Literally check each and every location where electrons may move... cell interconnects, bus bars, inverter terminals, charger terminals, etc.

Your method of main connections looks fine. those don't look like Class-T fuses, so they may not suffice.

#1 cause of issues is bad connections.

Check each and every terminal for proper torque.

Check each and every BMS lead for good crimp and torque.

Check that wires are firmly in the BMS connector, and that those connectors are secure.

Literally check each and every location where electrons may move... cell interconnects, bus bars, inverter terminals, charger terminals, etc.