diy solar

diy solar

Brand new to solar - trying to make a plan

Pickles

Hope this is the right place to start my journey. So much to figure out right now.
Glad to have found this forum. I am completely new to this all but diving into learning all I can. Any input will be gladly appreciated.

Current situation:
- North Las Vegas, NV
- 3000 sq/ft home - we own outright
- Current year usage was a total of 32,000 kWh
- Varies low Feb of 2250 kWh to high in July of 3560
- two A/C units - one for each floor
- Power consumption is high as we have a heated 16ft swim spa and I run a wide format print shop for my business at home
- 2 story home
- got to get control of our power bill (I'm sure you all have heard that)
- not afraid of DIY and pretty handy
- not too interested in batteries but you could correct me if wrong on that

My main issue right now is everywhere I turn it is like talking to used car salespeople. Never a straight answer. As mentioned I'm at the beginning of my research. We do have a SunRun consultation next week which I hear will be outrageous in price and ProjectSolar just gave us a first draft. I want to dig more into DIY for ROI reasons. Was pointed to this forum from Facebook.

Would love your input and advice to help draw up a plan. I've attached the Projectsolar image and cost as I guess this is my starting point to learning what I need to draw up to plan for:

ProjectSolar
System Size: 19.600kW
DIY Price (Including Sales Tax): $35,280.00
DIY Price (After Federal Incentives): $24,696.00

Attachments

• solar1.png
    solar1.png
    432.9 KB · Views: 23
When you get estimates, ask for the Cash price.
Do your research and understand the components. Panels, Inverters, Batteries.
Do you want AC (micro inverters) or DC connected panels.
You don't have batteries now. But, if you ever want them, plan now for them. Some systems are really expensive to add batteries. Might be worth paying a little more today for the ability to cheaply add batteries later.