diy solar

diy solar

Breaker/fuse sizing questions for solar panels connected series/parallel in 4s2p configuration that are slightly over current Voc? Need help!

phillipgbrantner

Hello, Im currently in the process of installing an off grid solar system for a friend in their tiny home here in Hawaii, and as I am very knowledgeable in electrical and solar I am not a certified professional.

I'm currently installing the following,
EG4 48v3000vEHV Inverter/controller charger, 48v LL-S Lithium Battery 100Ah server rack battery,
8x Bluesun bsm460m-72hbd 460w solar panels, 10AWG solar cabel

Specs

Solar controller x1
80a 500vmax input
120-500v Operating voltage

Solar panels x8 4s2p configuration

460w Maximum power (Pmax)
42.4 Operating voltage (vmpp)
10.86 Operating current (Immp)
50.8 Operating current voltage (VOC)
11.5 Short circuit current (ISC)
15a Max fuse size

10AWG Solar Cable 30amp

I plan on installing the panels in 2 strings, 4 panels each string in a 4s2p configuration.

I planned on using branch connectors to to combine the two strings and then into a 125Amp dc disconnect breaker, then directly to the solar controller which would give it 200v and 23amp ISC.

I need to know whether or not I need to install breakers after each series string or any mc4 fuses on each string and what sizes I would be used if any?

Because the combined VOC of the two strings exceeds the max fuse size of the panels.

I'm worried that having 8 panels with a combined VOC of 23 amps could feed back if there were a fault on a panel in either of the strings, and cause a cable to overheat and catch fire.

I'm trying to keep the the system on 2 strings to reduce cable cost and keep the voltage higher because the controller has a startup voltage of 120vdc and running 2 string hybrid has better fault redundancy then 1 string.

Any advice or answers to my questions are welcome.

Thanks,
Phil

Aloha