diy solar

diy solar

Can a 50 amp inlet supply grid power to an all in one solar power box? (mpp,etc.)

Robbie

Hello,
I'm totally new to DIY Solar but I've been reading up and familiarizing myself with the subject and practicing electrical tasks recently and am pretty tech savvy so feel comfortable enough to approach planning my off grid solar system in advance of installing it.
I'm currently renovating a 1966 caravan camper into a what I intend to make my mostly off grid tiny home. Right now I'm still in the framing repair and design stage of the process. After reading through William's solar system design options, I am leaning towards going with an mpp controller and 24v system hopefully with a model s battery with 700-1000W worth of solar panels.
I am on a budget and the solar system is dead last on my priority list, but I'm doing everything I can to plan compatibility as I go through the renovation process.
I'd like to use a 50amp inlet as my main grid power inlet on the trailer so that I always have the option of using an adapter to stay compatible with whatever shore power sources are available circumstantially. My concern is that a 50 amp inlet might not be compatible with an all-in-one solar power box. I guess my main question is, what would I need to make a 50 amp service hookup compatible with an all-in-one power solar power box? Do I just need a converter?

The other question I have is how do you hookup the 12V portion of the systen (lights/water pump/12v outlet/usb/etc) with an all-in-one solar power box?

I hope I'm not embarrassing myself with my lack of experience too badly with these questions o_O
Thanks so much in advance for any help!

Be sure which type of 50amp socket you are referring to...

RV 125v 30 or 50 amp...

Range/dryer 250v 30 or 50amp... BIG difference on compatibility...