diy solar

diy solar

Charging EF Delta Pros from 48V Batteries: How to ensure overcurrent protection?

JamesTheCrow

Hi!

Long time lurker, first time poster.

Context:
I have two Ecoflow Delta Pros that I connect to our house via the Double Voltage Hub (DVH) and a transfer switch.

I'd like to charge my Ecoflow Delta Pros from my 48V server rack batteries using each Delta Pro's PV input (XTi 60 connector). Given that the Delta Pro's SCC limits amperage to somewhere between 15A and 16A, I should be able to charge each Delta Pro with somewhere between 700W and 750W.

I've already browsed through related posts but couldn't find what I'm looking for.

Where I need help:
What stumps me is how to protect each Delta Pro from the potential 100A of each server rack battery. I'd like to connect 3x 48V 100 Ah server batteries in parallel. If I'm not mistaken (I'm a DIY solar beginner), that means that these batteries - when connected in parallel - can output up to 300A (3x 100A). And while each Delta Pro's SCC limits input current to about 16A, I want to put something between the batteries and each Delta Pro to make sure that the Delta Pros are protected in any case.

1) Do I need a T-Class fuse between batteries and each Delta Pro for this?
2) If so: would it have to be rated for 1.25 x 300A at least? Which rating should it have? 16A?
3) Is there an alternative to using T-Class fuses?
4) Do I need anything else in terms of overcurrent protection between the batteries and the Delta Pros?

Thanks for reading.

James

Last edited:
BATTERIES TO SCC? why,, not a solar panel. Its a battery. SORRY, this surface tablrt keeps going upper case.

OK, im goi to look at charging inputs for it

BATTERIES TO SCC? why,, not a solar panel. Its a battery. SORRY, this surface tablrt keeps going upper case.

OK, im goi to look at charging inputs for it
Yeah, I know the feeling. I'm not much of a phone/tablet typer, myself.

As to your question: