diy solar

diy solar

Christmas lighting on HOA Island

JayhawkBill

Commercial power failed on our HOA Island. Could be quite expensive to re-run. In trying to find the appropriate equipment to power our incandescent tree lights and wreath. Also a spotlight on our HOA name on a rock wall there. Cheap systems we tried are not bright enough at all. I'm a rookie at this... Any suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks...

Commercial power failed on our HOA Island. Could be quite expensive to re-run. In trying to find the appropriate equipment to power our incandescent tree lights and wreath. Also a spotlight on our HOA name on a rock wall there. Cheap systems we tried are not bright enough at all. I'm a rookie at this... Any suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks...
I got more questions than answers.

Are you saying you lost power to a whole island of houses?

Does HOA mean something other than Home owners Association?

If you cut the power line on a common area can’t they fix that?

I got more questions than answers.

Are you saying you lost power to a whole island of houses?

Does HOA mean something other than Home owners Association?

If you cut the power line on a common area can’t they fix that?
Thanks for responding. This island is actually a traffic island, dividing the lanes of a major street in our subdivision. No houses. Simply some spotlights for our monument signage, and then holiday lights on our pine tree...

The line from the pole runs about 500 feet before going under the street and up on the island. The break is somewhere underground. We've had an electrician with location equipment working on it, but the prognosis looks like a lot of money.

That's why we'd like to go solar if possible. There's an immediate savings of $300 per year in the power charge... and environmentally appropriate.