diy solar

diy solar

Complete Beginner - Installing a Renogy 20amp MPPT in caravan with 300W solar panels

ConorN

Hi all,

So I know pretty much nothing about solar power, to make it worse I know pretty much nothing about electricity either. Nevertheless, As I need a CPAP machine to sleep and have to camp off-grid in my caravan at a music festival in mid July, I've decided to dive in head first. However I think I may have screwed up with what I bought. My CPAP adapter says it needs Input: 100-240 Volt, 2.0-1.0 Amps, outputting 12v 6.67 amps to the machine. So I should have no trouble with a 100ah AGM leisure battery, as long as it's charged each day.

So I picked up 2 x 150Watt 18volt ETFE Monocrystalline Photovoltaic Panels, then I bought a Renogy 20A 12/24V MPPT Bluetooth Solar Panel Charge Controller.
The Solar Panels page on amazon described them as for 12volt Caravans, Motorhomes etc. But now that I'm actually looking to install them, I'm seeing a discrepancy, the MPPT Controller states: Max. PV Input Power 12V/260W. But the panels are 18volt and 300 watts. So, can I reduce the power of the panels before the controller? Or did I badly screw up and need to get different panels? I have about 4 weeks to get this all up and running so I'm starting to panic!

Any advice, greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• MPPT Controller.jpg
    MPPT Controller.jpg
    94.6 KB · Views: 3
  • Panels.jpg
    Panels.jpg
    498.4 KB · Views: 3
You are missing reading the controller specification, it recomends for a 12 volt battery system to use a maximum of 260 watts, that's the 12v/260 you are seeing in the specification.
It's very unlikely your panels will generate 300 watts, typically in good conditions at midday expect about 250 watts. If the panels exceed 260 the controller will limit the power to the battery, nothing bad will happen.
The panels can be connected in either series or parallel to the controller, series may be easier wiring up.