diy solar

diy solar

Complete beginner

Eastcoastcolt

Good day all. Complete novice here, I have an older travel trailer which I have permanently moved to a piece of property. I have a medically complex child 20 months old who requires a feeding pump to support him. I currently have a small system installed on this travel trailer consisting of 1 400 watt panel an epever tracer 30 amp mppt controller a 1000 watt pure sine wave inverter and 2 rolls s6 460 ah batteries. With the summer temperatures it's very hard to keep his food substitute at a good temperature in a cooler with a 5 year old opening and closing it ever 5 minutes it seems. I have a 4.3 cu ft mini fridge with freezer I plugged into the trailers 120v system but it seems to deplete the batteries very quickly (about 2 days with about 12 hours of direct sun per day) I'm unsure if my system would be able to handle it. The only information I can find on the fridge is that it consumes 327 wh per year. Presently I have the shore power cable plugged into my inverter, which powers the entire camper very well. All lights are 12v DC through the onboard converter and I'm worried about voltage loss through the shore power cable which appears to be 14/3 cabtyre, approximately 24 feet long. My question is am I losing alot of power through this cable? Should I plug the fridge directly into my inverter vs the wall outlet in the TT. Is there anything I can do to make things more efficient? Thanks in advance

If you're connected to shore power, the 120v refrigerator shouldn't be draining the battery at all.

Does the shore power cable route through the inverter?

You are not losing any real power in the extension cord to the RV.