diy solar

diy solar

Currently running 3 x 12v LED panel lights directly from 60w panel...would a larger panel run more of these lights please?

eddykramer

Hi guys :),

Sorry if this is a total newbie question. I was wondering if anyone could help me work this out please and any help would be greatly appreciated.

We have a property that has 3 x 12v flat panel LED lights that run directly to a 60 w panel (please see photos of the equipment). We use them (I guess you would say) passively I.E. they work as LED solar skylights in that they run without battery storage and just work when the sun is up and fade down in light like a normal skylight as the sun reduces it's effect on the panel. They work perfectly for our setup in dark areas of the house and at night these panel lights also have a seperate LED strip inside that is wired to a 240v transformer so we can just switch them on and use them as normal lights....Hope this makes sense.

The lights are labelled as 18 watt but I think this may just be internal (non 12v) LED strip that runs off the generic transformer that is plugged into mains...is this correct? The panel light has a 2nd internal flexible strip of LED lights that runs a 2nd passive lighting circuit as it is cabled directly to the panel (no battery involved in the setup and hence when the sun fades/so does the LED light). I spoke to somebody who knows a little about 12v solar and they said you can't or shouldn't run a 12v load (LED/motor etc) directly to a mono panel unless there is a buck converter or voltage regulator that limits the output to a suitable voltage. I told him that there didn't seem to be any sort of buck converter in the path and opened up the back of the panel (black plastic box) and looked at the wiring...it seems to have what I think are a pair of diodes soldered across the terminals (again please see photo). Would these diodes be doing the job of limiting the power output to make it suitable to connect the 12v LED lights?Â