diy solar

diy solar

Dappled sun issues?

Sutty

Damn, I had a long thread here, already to go, and I lost it. Oh well, I'll try again, but much shorter. I'm a complete beginner, and any system I had in place that worked would have been more good luck than good management, as I almost threw my system together at the start.

Two 100W panels in parallel, that were keeping up, for 5 years, are now not, having switched to 24V battery, instead of 12V. Originally 2 x 12V 110Ah SLA batteries in parallel, but now for various reasons, I wanted 24V, so I switched things around, and changed a lot of other things too, and am struggling. I was using a 20A PWM controller, and now have a 20A mppt controller, and 2 new batteries, again 12V, 110Ah, but now AGM, and in series.

Because I went to 24V, I had to put my panels in series too, otherwise I didn't have enough voltage, and now my system is struggling to keep up.

I only have a 4-6W continuous load so I don't have much to make up, but still, right now, even on a full sun day, I only get 25W. Yes, it's a net gain, but it's not enough, because here in the UK we can have many poor days in a row. On physically observing the installation, I see that there is very dappled sunlight on the panels. This is due to it being summer, and the sun tracking across the sky very high, and passing over, rather than in front of the trees that are behind and overhanging my cabin, and I'm wondering if changing to series panels has made my system far less tolerant of shading?