diy solar

diy solar

Design for partial shade?

humanappliance

Hello, I'm new to solar and learning a ton here! We recently bought a small off-grid a-frame cabin and would like to add solar to support a modest electrical load while we're there visiting. In the summer, the panels should get a few hours of direct sun, but the rest of the day and most of the year the sun will be coming through a line of trees and direct sun will be dappled.

Are there special considerations to think about when designing for dappled sun conditions? Is this situation even viable for solar?

Thank you!

Sunlight has to hit the panels. Dappled is just another word for shadows and panels don't do much in shadow.

You will get maybe 5-10% of the power so it will be pretty terrible. Even if you got large patches of light and installed the fanciest shade compensation hardware (eg microinverters) you will likely get that amount since there is a theoretical limit of power from the way the solar panels are wired internally.

I use half cut cells (which have superior internal wiring for shade) and microinverters with my bad shading situation and I only get th equivalent production of .5-1 sun hours on the worst days of the year.

Some sun will hit the panels. Let's say each panel will have around 40% sun, unevenly distributed.
Still terrible.

The distribution of sun on the panel will affect how much power you get. Since the pattern of sun on the panel will vary throughout the year and as the trees change it is very difficult to model. In my experience after a year of watching shade production you should just assume the worst and be happy if any improvement comes from having optimizers or microinverters. The math and empirical measurements have been done many times on the forum.

The only reliable annual production modeling is for simple unobstructed light hitting the whole panel.