diy solar

diy solar

Designing car system for road tripping/camping - 12V or 24V?

Atom Tan

I am designing a small LFP-based system for use while traveling in my Subaru. I have built a 640Wh 12V system to learn and now have questions.

I am a novice at solar systems. I have a decent understanding of AC & DC power. I understand batteries fairly well from years as a flashaholic. I am very comfortable working on AC systems, less experience with DC systems. Not an expert on either, but I mostly understand the boundaries of my knowledge. I get up to speed pretty quick.

I will lay out my thoughts, ask questions inline, and then summarize questions at the end. I apologize for the length, but want to be comprehensive.

Constraints and Context
My primary design constraints are interior space for components, and roof space for panels.

Cost matters, but is not the primary limiting factor.

I tend towards overkill, infusing margin to avoid problems. I am cognizant of failure modes and edge cases and try to avoid them, especially when they might hurt. I may need some help slowing my roll here.

The battery needs to fit into a single second row footwell 19” wide and 10.75” deep. Height can be up to 14". I’d prefer a shape that is squat rather than tippy to ensure stability. I have the other footwell earmarked for a water tank so it will not be available. The water tank will also approximately balance the weight of the battery with an equal-ish weight of water. I have the trunk earmarked for other things.

My roof rack is a platform with a 2” raised lip. Inside dimensions are 43” wide x 59” long. I’d prefer to keep any panels inside that, but would be willing to add 2-3" to each dimension and overhang the rack a bit.

Other parts (SCC, inverter/charger, DC-DC charger, 24V-12V stepdown) may live above the battery, or in other locations. Once I make the battery decision, I'll Tetris all of the other stuff.

Planned Loads
  • Critical - 864W:
    • Dometic CFX3 75DZ fridge