diy solar

diy solar

Do LiFeP04 batteries need a specific kind of inverter?

ValkyrieVanLife

I'm a total newbie at this, but I'm trying to decide on a 1000W pure sine wave inverter to pair with my LiFeP04 battery for my basic solar system for a van. I found a 1000W pure sine wave inverter that has good reviews and looks awesome, but the manufacturer said "this device would not work with Lithium Iron Phosphate batteries (LiFeP04)." Why wouldn't it work with a LiFeP04 battery? Don't you just hook it up to the battery terminals and go? Why would it work on other batteries and not LiFeP04? Super confused. If anyone has insight, I would love some help! Thanks!

product I'm looking at: https://wagan.com/wagan-tech/power-inverters/pureline-1000.html

Last edited:
I'm a total newbie at this, but I'm trying to decide on a 1000W pure sine wave inverter to pair with my LiFeP04 battery for my basic solar system for a van. I found a 1000W pure sine wave inverter that has good reviews and looks awesome, but the manufacturer said "this device would not work with Lithium Iron Phosphate batteries (LiFeP04)." Why wouldn't it work with a LiFeP04 battery? Don't you just hook it up to the battery terminals and go? Why would it work on other batteries and not LiFeP04? Super confused. If anyone has insight, I would love some help! Thanks!
The LiFeP04 chemistry has some distinct features that makes it outstanding but there are some of its features that you must watch out for...
In my opinion firstly ensure you have a reliable BMS.
Secondly get a smart charger that is programmable... You should be able to set LVD and HVD...if your charger can do this then the BMS should effectively take care of the rest. Also note that LiFeP04 does not need the float charge as is the case with lead acid chemistry... To work around this just reduce the HVD below the battery manufacturers recommendations and you should be fine.

This is probably the concern
DC Input range: 10.1V - 16.4V