diy solar

diy solar

Do these 48v inverters really require 120+VDC Solar input?

novaleaf

Hello, noob here. I'm about to build my first (48v) system. so 2 questions

Following the build here https://www.mobile-solarpower.com/mobile-48v-system.html I see the EG4 3000 EHV-48's specs say solar input to be between 120-450VDC.

I have four 160w panels ( https://us.ecoflow.com/products/160w-portable-solar-panel?variant=31913800630345 ) that output 18.2 VMP, so in series that would be aprox 72V.
Q1: Does that mean the EG4 won't accept my charge?

If so, as an alternative I'm considering this Growatt as a replacement https://signaturesolar.com/growatt-48v-3kw-150vdc-stackable-off-grid-inverter/ which accepted between 60-115VDC.
Q2: Am I correct that the Growatt would be an appropriate buy for my panels?

Thank you much for reading/replying!

If you plan on future expansion of you system the eg4 is nice due to higher voltage capabilities if not go with the growatt, middle of the voltage range to 3/4 is a good range to be in just don’t go over the max voltage it will smoke it

If you plan on future expansion of you system the eg4 is nice due to higher voltage capabilities if not go with the growatt, middle of the voltage range to 3/4 is a good range to be in just don’t go over the max voltage it will smoke it
Thank you, the idea is to build a car-camping/emergency system to go with my existing panels, so I'll do the Growatt then.

I figure that I'll learn a lot with this "basic" setup and I'll do a off-grid workshop setup in a couple years based on what I learn.

Thank you, the idea is to build a car-camping/emergency system to go with my existing panels, so I'll do the Growatt then.

I figure that I'll learn a lot with this "basic" setup and I'll do an off-grid workshop setup in a couple years based on what I learn.
You can learn so much on this site just start reading different posts and it will help on future projects