diy solar

diy solar

Please check my 48V build

gbrunke

Hi All,​

Hoping to get some feedback/input on my preliminary design so far. This is my first build so I'm open to hearing anything I might be missing - or not thinking about.

This is for a 2017 Jayco X213. Planning to do full-time travel and want to be able to dry camp/boondock regularly. Typical usage is a pair of laptops, typical 12 RV Loads, microwave, toaster, blender. I am planning on bringing a gaming desktop for a couple hours of occasional use every week or two but it will be powered down except when used. I've started a power usage estimate for what I hope is a heavy use day.

Here is a power usage estimate I started: (link)

Right now the plan is:
  • AIO Growatt SPF 3000TL LVM-48P 3000kW/48V
  • AOLITHIUM 48V 100Ah (Much less expensive than SOK or EG4 in Canada)
  • 1000W+ of PV (Not sure which modules yet until I check the roof space available but the plan is to maximize PV)
  • Leave existing 12V house battery (Or buy small LFP) and add a Victron Energy Orion-Tr 48/12-30A
Questions/Concerns:
  • Should I add a second 100Ah battery?
  • How much solar is realistic for a 24' travel trailer (24'x8')
  • Do I need to keep the existing 12V house battery can I just use the Victron DC/DC converter? (Concerned about slide motors burning it up)
  • Is the AIO a mistake? (AIO comes across as very cost efficient)
    • does Idle consumption blow my power budget.... can I get away by turning it off?
    • Will the fan noise be unbearable? ( Open to replacing them)
    • Single point of failure (Could add bypass for shore power and I'll have the 12v house battery)
Thanks for your input and help.

Attachments

• X213 Build V1.pdf
    28 KB · Views: 22
I would run 2 batteries running Lifpo4 batteries you don’t worry about charging to 100% every day like fla batteries so with your smaller pv array if you have low pv days you have some extra wiggle room and redundancy