diy solar

diy solar

Fire safety for a battery storage rack? NEC 706 questions.

Zimm

I'm just getting started on looking into a battery back up system to pair with generator and solar. How does one best guard against a battery fire? I see YouTubers putting battery server racks on the floor of a garage of basement. I just learned about the NEC 706, in which case the batteries have to be out of impact range of a vehicle- so that means high mount wall rack. It also stipulates 5/8" drywall required in a garage and integrated/networked smoke alarm system. Would that be enough to keep a server rack from burning down the house? I thought about outside storage or a little "battery shed" but I'm drawing a blank on how to efficiently keep it above freezing temperature being in New England.

I also see the NEC says if you have more than 20kw/hr of storage, you have to go to commercial standards? So a 5 battery SOK rack would be 25-ish, putting me into that category?

Normally I wouldn't worry too much about passing an inspection and just DIY wire it all up. But if I want to sell power back to the grid, doesn't everything have to be checked out by the power company?

But if I want to sell power back to the grid, doesn't everything have to be checked out by the power company?
Not everything is checked out. Around here they only inspect the equipment that directly interfaces with them and not even that closely in my experience.

Particularly they are looking to see if your equipment complies with IEE1547 and UL1741. You submit single line drawings along with your application that is signed off by a "licensed electrician or professional engineer" in this state. They review them then issue you a conditional letter or approval or reject them. You can make thier corrections and resubmit.