diy solar

diy solar

'Hacking' sealed VRLA batteries for maintenance??

IC_theSun

Hello all, new to this forum.

I've just bought some replacement VRLA sealed batteries for my small off-grid setup. They're fairly cheapo 'maintenance free' batteries.

The ones I'm replacing are pretty much the same, which are now entirely dead after about 3 years constant use.

So... I'm no expert but am thinking the main cause of the demise of the previous set of batteries would be plate sulfation and at this point they probably don't have much electrolyte left in them? Could that be right? I imagine, despite being 'sealed' they do in fact vent a certain amount of gas which eventually after many many cycles over years will mean that the electrolyte will reduce to low levels.

So... am thinking wouldn't it just make sense to drill these new batteries and put some bungs in them, so can 1. do regular equalization charge to break off sulfation, and 2. inspect/top up electrolyte when needed.... and maybe even 3. add some kind of chemical to recondition them, something I've seen mentioned on youtube, but am a bit wary about stuff promoted there!

I reckon the old batteries are probably beyond repair, being completely dead.... but i wonder if I modify the new batteries to be 'maintainable' might get a few more years good use out of them than just 2-3 years. I have a pair of 6v flooded Trojans with vent caps that are about 9 or 10 years old and have seen much abuse, but I'm still able to top them up and they still hold a reasonable amount of charge.

Be interested to hear some reactions to the above :) Has anyone tried this sort of thing?

You can do it.

The result will never be as good as it was or even as good a regular lead acid battery.

You will only recover a certain percentage of its original capacity - usually a disappointingly small %.

Once done, it must be maintained as a flooded battery.

Well maintained FLA ALWAYS lasts longer then AGM/SLA.