diy solar

diy solar

hello from NJ

secondhandluck

Just getting started with a 7kw system here in NJ. I've been scrounging the components for a while and am trying to do this as inexpensively as possible. I'll probably post some questions after I lurk some more..
So far, I have 7kw worth of sunpower 305 panels, roof mounts for my barn, and a few spools of 10awg use2 wire. I'm a contractor/ fabricator/welder by trade, so much of this is familiar territory.
It's pretty simple to do as straight grid tied, but my desire to run a hybrid inverter for battery backup complicates things. Certainly threatens my budget.
Anyway, cheers.
SD

I grew up in Upstate NY, not far from you. It can be a challenging place for solar for 5 months a year or so.

Well, if you like to weld, I can show you pics of my unistrut arrays, which I'm very proud of. As a real welder, I'm sure you could do a better job than me. I use manual tracking to point the arrays east to west on days when I need maximal power. Tracking will help you get past a storm that seriously depletes your batteries. I grew up along the Delaware River, so I know what NJ winter weather is like. In my pic I'm showing an array with four 250W panels mounted vertically. With slight design changes you could squeeze six of your 305W panels mounted horizontally.

Depending on what Voc your system components can handle, you could make four 6-panel arrays. Each array could be wired either as 3S2P or 6S1P, though in below freezing weather, your Voc would be >300DC for 6S1P. Only the most serious charge controllers can handle DC that high. But, even a set of arrays wired for 3S8P would give you a series voltage high enough to run wire 100+ feet to the controller(s).