diy solar

diy solar

Hello From NW Ohio

TechRider

Hello Everyone,

I'm a solar newbie from NW Ohio, looking to design and build my first solar system. I have a friend who has installed a decently sized system and I'm looking at doing something similar. I'm looking to build a grid tied / hybrid system. I want to try to lower my total energy bill (~$400/m - yikes) and prepare to do the best I can if there is a grid failure.

I've got a 22kW whole house propane generator but I'll only get 5-7 days with that so I'd like to look at extending as long as I can.

My house is recently remodeled and I went through and replaced a bunch of things with more energy efficient devices but I'm still way over what I think I should be when it comes to power usage. We did spoil ourselves with a few items like a nice cooktop, etc.

I'm leaning towards a Sol-Ark 15k, custom battery solution (~60kWh storage), and I haven't picked the panels yet. I'm going to try to max out the panel capacity of the Sol-Ark but I have to do roof mount where I'm located. (Lots of trees, house is the only space open.) I've just recently started looking at the panels. Once I get a decision there, I'll start putting a BoM together and have "the talk" with my wife to make sure it's worth it.

Thanks!

Welcome!
With the upcoming eclipse passing through your area, I am planning a trip to see it.
My brother is over in cleveland, and I will be staying with him for the event.
How close to Toledo is your place?

Thanks!
We're about an hour or so south of Toledo. From what I understand, the epicenter is supposed to be in Forest and I'm about 25 min from there. We've only heard a little about it but from what I've heard, people said it'll be a big deal.

Thanks!
We're about an hour or so south of Toledo. From what I understand, the epicenter is supposed to be in Forest and I'm about 25 min from there. We've only heard a little about it but from what I've heard, people said it'll be a big deal.