diy solar

diy solar

Home lawn sprinkler system from solar, Does anyone have experience?

rtthacker2

Im new to solar but I was looking for information to run my lawn sprinkler system off grid. I was thinking my a pool solar pump, but you guys are the experts and I'm sure you know how I should do this. I would like to pump water from my pond. also thinking of creating a waterfall feature
Thank you in advance
Richard

I'm in N. Central California, and we have plenty of sun during our 6 month irrigation season. So last year I converted my sprinkler system from utility power to solar power. The main tasks involved swapping out my single phase 1.5 hp sprinkler pump for a 1.5 hp three phase pump, building a ground mount and installing 6 310 Watt panels, and wiring a disconnect switch and a pump controller between the panels and the pump. My system runs 7 hours each day and pumps about 1500 gallons per hour through 6 sprinkler lines at 35-40 lbs pressure. This was my first DIY solar project and I wasn't sure how to match the components of the system, so I bought a kit from this company.

I had an excellent experience with RPS, but other companies like Grundfos offer solar packages as well. Spend some time on their web sites and look at some of their videos. Once you have a clearer idea what you want to do, the real experts on this forum can help you design and build a system for a lot less money than these packaged kits cost.