diy solar

diy solar

How low can you go?

quentinsf

So my new Sunsynk CATL LFP batteries advertise a '100% depth of discharge'.
What would you say is a sensible minimum charge level actually to specify in my inverter? I have 15% at present.

I don't want to unnecessarily shorten the life of my batteries, but I also don't want to waste capacity I could sensibly be using,

I'm new to home batteries, but I know that on my electric cars, the manufacturers arrange that 0% or 100% (as displayed to the user) have sensible margins to protect the batteries, and it's normally impossible either to fully charge or fully discharge them. What should I assume is the usable capacity of my 5.1kWh batteries, do you think?

many thanks,
Quentin

Check with your battery manufacturer, as with my Trophy batteries, they already have a built-in to the BMS to prevent going too much DOD.
And you are not wasting capacity...over-all. You may not use that capacity until later in the battery life because you extended the battery life, but you still will use it...eventually. Look at this way...you will get X number of kilowatts of recharge not matter what...it is either going to be used in a shorter or longer period of time.

Check with your battery manufacturer, as with my Trophy batteries, they already have a built-in to the BMS to prevent going too much DOD.
And you are not wasting capacity...over-all. You may not use that capacity until later in the battery life because you extended the battery life, but you still will use it...eventually. Look at this way...you will get X number of kilowatts of recharge not matter what...it is either going to be used in a shorter or longer period of time.

Yes... except that I may well move house before the batteries expire. ?

But is it actually that simple a calculation: that the total discharge capacity over the lifetime of the batteries is pretty constant?

I have recorded a total of 28 cycles in 2½ years using 15% to 99% on LiFePO4 batteries.