diy solar

diy solar

How should I arrange my solar array? Will Prowse 48v mobile power system

MbeBeefy

I’m a newbie building an ambulance conversion. The 48v system allows me to scale up once I’m done with the ambulance and want to get land. I have the EG4 3000 inverter and the 48V 100-E battery from Trophy Battery. On the roof I can fit 5 Solar Frontier 150w panels from San tan solar.

I have 4 panels currently in use. Two strings in series that I’ve then used a branch connector to connect those strings in parallel to feed into my inverter. But with the VOC and the max voltage I was wondering if there is a way to work in the 5th panel, I need all the juice I can get. I’m worried that I might have to uninstall the panels and buy more expensive 200watt panels from rich solar and re-install those. Just trying to avoid thr expensive headache if I can, but I haven’t formed a full understanding of all the solar specs- which is where you all come in!

The guy at Trophy Battery has been amazing walking me through setting up my EG4, any help from you all in the forum would be much appreciated. It can get very overwhelming in the beginning of understanding solar even with the prep I’ve done.

Battery link: https://trophybattery.com/wp-conten...Battery-Specification-Book-2022-08-21-006.pdf

EG4 link: https://eg4electronics.com/backend/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/EG4-3000EHV-48-Spec-Sheet.pdf

Panels: https://www.santansolar.com/product/used-solar-frontier-150w-thin-film-solar-panel/

What SCC do you have now?

If your SCC cannot handle 5S voltage, just get a second SCC like a Victron, smallest that does 48V. Get the Smart type with Bluetooth. If you plan on expanding later, get a bigger one.

Can you get a sixth panel and use these as ground mount?

In the winter months, ground mount panels are at least twice as efficient as flat roof panels. I have a ground mounted array for my RV I move three times a day to max put production.