diy solar

diy solar

How to size battery cable for 48v systems?

nyyankees588

Looked around online and on this forum and did not find a straight-forward answer, but I'm sure it exists. Feel free to link to another post/article if you know of one.

Question: how does one size cables between batteries and output loads in a 48v system? I am very familiar with 12v systems, but this is my first time working with a high amperage 48v system, so I want to be certain that I am doing things correctly.

System overview:
  • 8x 12v batteries: 4x batteries wired in series to achieve 48v, 2x of these sets will be wired in parallel (similar to this diagram)
  • Main load will be a 48v electric motor that is rated for continuous 150A draw
Specific questions:
  1. Sizing of wiring connecting batteries in series (6-12" lengths): planning on 4g
  2. Sizing of wiring connecting battery banks in parallel (12-24" lengths): planning on 2/0g
  3. Sizing of wiring connecting complete battery bank to motor controller, then to motor (TBD, obviously as short as possible): planning on 2/0 OR 4/0, depending on length of run
Many thanks in advance...

I am interested in responses from others on this forum in case I am wrong but I believe you can simply size the wire as you would for 12 volt remembering that the amps will be 4 times less than it’s 12volt counterpart for the same wattage. If you have converted your wattage load to amps the size will be the same for 12 or 48 volts. So 1200 watts is 120 amps at 12 volts but only 30 amps at 48 volts but 30 amps at 48 volts takes the same size wire as 30 amps at 12 volts.