diy solar

diy solar

Introduction

dante

Hi, I'm a math/software engineer, and am down the road somewhat in a 144 250 Watt panel design.

I'm looking for a formula to estimate a string's wattage output given the wattage of each panel, and with optimizers on each panel.

I'm trying to optimize an off-grid solution for the winter months. At my location, the azimuth varies 150 degrees at the winter solstice, but elevation only varies 29 degrees, and am seeking to provide continuous solar panel power as best as possible during the deep winter months, as balanced by a relatively large battery backup.

My particular setup accommodates 12 strings with 12 250-watt panels.

My intent is to write a program to perform a search algorithm that will determine a result that is reasonably close to optimal panel orientation. Note, I'm aware that "optimal" has many factors, such as weather, overcast days, rainy days, temperature, day of the year, varying power requirements over the year, etc., and am capable of writing a search algorithm. I do have the information on the panels. What I am seeking is how to model the output of the string given different wattages at different panels.

Having that, I will be able to create models for weather, and determine how to orient the panels in a string to meet energy requirements of the loads. Thanks for any insights!

If you live in an area where you need to heat your house in the winter and not where you need air conditioning in the summer, the optimal orientation is the orientation that produces the most power on a sunny day on December 21st. In your case - almost vertically aligned.

If you can change the position of the panels throughout the day, that's a different story.