diy solar

diy solar

Inverter capacitor precharge procedure

tucsonjwt

I have a MPP 24 volt 3000 watt all in one inverter and am about to connect my 4 Battle Born batteries connected in two strings of 2 -12 volt batteries in series.

Being an ignorant noob, I need to know the correct procedure for precharging the inverter capacitors. I have a 30 ohm resistor which I plan to connect to a negative terminal of my battery buss bar and touch the other end to the negative lead coming out of the inverter (currently disconnected from the negative battery buss bar.)

Do I have the procedure correct and do I have the inverter turned on or off when I touch the negative lead from the the inverter to the negative buss bar of the battery bank?

I would think the inverter would have to be turned on first, but I thought I should confirm that here first.

Thanks.

The problem with the described procedure is having the negative lead disconnected from the bus bar. How much time will it take to connect the negative lead and tighten it down? The caps will start to discharge unless you can keep the resistor in contact while connecting the cable.
A better method would be have everything connected to the + & - bus bars with the DC disconnect or breaker in the OFF position. Then use the resistor to jump across the terminals on the disconnect or breaker for a few seconds then turn on the disconnect or breaker while the resistor is in place. Then remove the resistor and turn on the Inverter.

I would think the inverter would have to be turned on first, but I thought I should confirm that here first.

Leave it turned off otherwise it will try to draw power through the resistor. And as noted above will drain the caps before you connect the negative.