diy solar

diy solar

Is it OK to leave solar panels in sunlight not connected to anything?

Paulj

I am getting ready to install 400W of solar on the roof of my van, but it will be some time before I am ready to hook them up to an MPPT controller and batteries. Is there any harm in leaving the solar panels disconnected for a time?
Thanks

If those panels are thin-film amorphous types, rather than mono/polycrystalline, it is generally better not to expose them to sun and not be serving any purpose, since thin-film degrades quicker with exposure.

A few weeks, months of exposure with a thin-film panel not serving any purpose is one thing, but if they are going to be installed for a year with no use, why not save a years worth of degradation.

I was speaking to a couple of guys from an Austin Texas solar company

and they tried to tell me that the power had to be used or the solar panel would catch on fire from all the pent up energy

I’m just learning about solar but even I knew that was wrong

and they tried to tell me that the power had to be used or the solar panel would catch on fire from all the pent up energy

those are the same guys that tell you to pay to put nitrogen in your tires....
Did they sell you a "solar panel energy draining device" to avoid explosions when not in use?

those are the same guys that tell you to pay to put nitrogen in your tires....
Did they sell you a "solar panel energy draining device" to avoid explosions when not in use?
No. Our conversation did not go that far

I walked away pretty fast

But every solar salesman I talk to swears that I must have a “smart” inverter/controller that kills my solar output to my home when the grid goes down

I’m sure that is wrong

But so far no solar company has been willing to configure an installation that gives me what I want

But every solar salesman I talk to swears that I must have a “smart” inverter/controller that kills my solar output to my home when the grid goes down

I’m sure that is wrong