diy solar

diy solar

Keep or Eliminate 240V Transformer w/ Redesign?

PaleBlueDotFarm

Hello!

I've recently moved into an off-grid home with an old, small solar system. I am researching redesigning into a appropriately sized system w/ 48V LiFePO4 server rack batteries. I have some background putting together smaller solar generators, this is my first big residential project.

The existing system uses a Xantrex Trace 4000W inverter (mfr 1999!) to a PSX-240 transformer, needed for a well pump. From the transformer, the lines run to a PV system/Generator transfer switch, then to the panel.

Question: How important is it to eliminate the transformer in redesigning? From a DIY-ness, and cost standpoint, it seems attractive to potentially throw an 120V all-in-one on, and hook directly up to the existing transformer.

Thanks for any help - finally leaving the lurker curtain of Will's videos.

Are you planning to use the all-in-one to power a well pump? Have you determined it is capable of doing so?
The older inverters are legendary for dealing with heavy loads.

You can get split-phase inverters, and 120V single-phase inverters stackable for 120/240V split phase (or 3-phase.)
Plan for future use when you "upgrade" (if you can call replacing a Trace "upgrading.")

Are you planning to use the all-in-one to power a well pump? Have you determined it is capable of doing so?
The older inverters are legendary for dealing with heavy loads.

You can get split-phase inverters, and 120V single-phase inverters stackable for 120/240V split phase (or 3-phase.)
Plan for future use when you "upgrade" (if you can call replacing a Trace "upgrading.")
The pump draws at most 8 amps, and produces 20+ gpm, so it doesn't need to run much/often. I haven't selected an inverter yet, since my determining factor is if/why I really need to do the extra work to eliminate the otherwise perfectly good transformer.