diy solar

diy solar

Kill My Dreams! Repurposing Hot Tub Sub-panel for Grid-Tie System? AC Disconnect?

JoelE

This is my first post and I'm a newbie with high hopes prepared to have my dreams crushed by the impending waves of code violations you are about to find with my plan... I want to keep this simple for myself and I don't even want to touch my main panel at all if I can avoid it. I own the home and want to do my own install, including the electric. I was certified in the Oregon Green Tech program and have done some NFPA 70E training. I'm not officially a 'qualified person' so I'm not sure if they'll even let me do the install here in Oregon... Unless there's a 'qualified person' out there who wants to let me demonstrate to them that I'm qualified (for the very narrow task of a basic solar install?) But I digress...

My setup is like this:
  • 200amp Panel (WITHOUT A MAIN BREAKER)
  • Existing 50amp breaker at the panel for Hot Tub (no longer used)
  • External Sub-panel for Hot Tub, currently with a 30amp and a 20amp breaker (no longer used)
The system I'm designing is like this:
  • 9.8 kW across 22 panels (2 strings of 11)
  • 7.6 kW inverter w/ Tigo transmitter
  • 22 TS4-A-F
    • Side note: I had a small freak-out today worried that my stupid MC4 connectors would not match for my Rapid Shut Down system because my panels use MC4-EVO2 and Tigo's are MC4, but apparently they still quality as a matched system because they are the same manufacturer and type.
My plan is like this:
  1. Remove the 30AMP and 20AMP breakers from the hot tub sub panel, and insert a 40amp breaker and a cover where the 20amp was.
  2. Install my AC disconnect switch below the sub-panel connected to the 40amp breaker. I guess I need a zip-tie to close it?
  3. Install my Inverter to the left of the AC disconnect, with the rapid shutdown switch located to the left of that and then up to the panels on the roof