diy solar

diy solar

LiFePO4 120 Volt Battery Charger

06RKguy

I'm new to lithium batteries and am replacing the AGM battery in my cargo conversion camper with a LiFepo4 battery. The old charger I have is a "Battery Tender" 1.25 amp trickle charger, but it does have a LiFepo4 setting. It has been my experience that Battery Tender makes pretty good chargers. The battery I'm buying has a recommended charge current of 20 amps 0.2C. I understand that a 1.25 amp charger will take forever to charge the battery, but I'm more concerned that not using the manufacturers recommended 20 amp charge rate will somehow damage the battery? I'm not living in the camper, and I plan on buying an adequate solar setup in the near future for when I am on the road. The camper just sits next to the house plugged in 75% of the time so fast charging it isn't much of a concern. I do want to buy the proper 120 Volt charger eventually, but would like to know if the Battery Tender I already own will be ok for now?

the recommended is an alternative to the maximum charge current, which is typically 0.5C or 1.0C.

Charging at lower current is not a concern.

The bigger concern:

The camper just sits next to the house plugged in 75% of the time so fast charging it isn't much of a concern. I do want to buy the proper 120 Volt charger eventually, but would like to know if the Battery Tender I already own will be ok for now?

Unlike lead-acid, LFP deteriorate when stored at full charge, particularly in warmer weather.

As camper currently sits "idle" in between uses, possibilities might be:

- run an extension cord from RV system to a load in the house, and power that load, exercising the RV's battery bank
- design the RV battery bank to be more mobile, and put it in the house when not RV'ing, such that it services (12v?) loads
- camper becomes "office" when at home if you can set it up that way
- one of your children (if old enough) uses it as a bedroom