diy solar

diy solar

Cargo Trailer Conversion

06RKguy

Greetings to everyone! I'm new to solar, but I am a retired electrician with some solar training. I have never had any hands on experience. I plan on installing a modest solar setup on my cargo trailer camper. It has a 30 amp RV input that I use with shore power, and a generator, but I want to power all the 12v stuff with solar when dispersed camping, and not using my generator. I have a "Battery Tender" LiFePO4 lithium charger that I plan to use to keep the battery charged and maintained when not in use, but it is a trickle charger so I will be upgrading it to something that charges a little faster. I use the Battery Tender when either plugged into shore power, or when on my generator. I do not plan on using the charger when on solar. I have a LiFePO4 100 ah battery and want to provide 12 volts for a 12 volt refrigerator, lights, a 12 volt tv, Maxx vent fan and for charging my cell phone. I also have a laptop and tv antenna signal booster that will be plugged into the inverter. Not all of these things will be running at the same time. I am planning on starting out with a couple of 100 watt solar panels for 200 watts total, and a 1000 watt pure sine inverter for the minimal 120 volt loads. Does this sound like a reasonable setup? Thank you for any input and suggestions...

Sounds good! I have a similar recharging station set up using 200 watts solar and a 200Ah LFP battery.

That runs one of my 12 volt fridges, laptop, 45 watt evap cooler, small microwave and cooking appliances and recharges my ebike and gadgets.

Like you said, you don't run all those things at once and some are used for just short period and have their own batteries.

You might want to add 200 watts more solar and another 100Ah battery for more night time capacity but see how the system works for you first and you can always add on later.