diy solar

diy solar

Looking for recommendations for 48v battery equalizers/balancers for lead acid.

SolarSamSurfer

Here to learn.
I would like to buy a battery balancer for my 48v lead acid system, it has 4x 12v batteries. I have only found two options in my country and they both seem to be generic. Does anyone use one of these models? are they reliable?

option one or option two

I think they are all pretty much the same thing, i.e. a HA02 balancer, just with different brand stickers on them.
There is also the HC02 which has a voltage display.

Just google "HA02 balancer" or "HC02 balancer" and you'll find a bazillion suppliers. Use one you trust.

I use the HA02 balancer, have one each on my two 4 x 12 V 190 Ah SLA battery banks. Seem to work well. I did a quick check of my batteries the other day and the lower bank had a 30mV variance, the top bank a 50mV variance. I'm no expert in lead acid but that seemed fine by me.

Here is another option, Mazava PLC-10.

24V 12V Battery Balancer PLC-10 Battery Equalizer Batteries Voltage Balance Lead Acid Battery Series 22.2V 25.6V 29.6V

This product is available at other locations, but here is one link. It costs a few dollars more than it did a few months ago.

Going to try asking in this thread.

I have 8x6 volt FLA batteries in series.

How do I balance these ?

Going to try asking in this thread.

I have 8x6 volt FLA batteries in series.

How do I balance these ?
Balance is not something I've heard mentioned for FLA so that's a new one to me. Periodic equalization has historically been the best way to ensure your batteries are healthy.

Equalize them until all of the cells are reading a specific gravity of 1.270 +/- .05 (check your battery's manual for exacts) is how I would get them to all the same voltage. Of course that is rather energy intensive and takes many hours of babysitting.

I've never used a balancer but they do look intriguing.